Company History

Ivett & Reed was founded in Cambridge in 1896, and our early premises were at 30 Regent Street in the city centre. We soon moved to 43 Mill Road, by the gates of the Mill Road Cemetery.

In 1903, we acquired new premises at 615 Newmarket Road, Cambridge, near the location of the new Cambridge City Cemetery, and all masonry works were being carried out here by 1904.

Having initially retained showrooms at Regent Street and Mill Road, eventually all showroom and office operations were also moved to the Newmarket Road site, where we remain to this day.

We spent the first half of the 20th century building up a reputation for quality craftsmanship in the memorial and stonemasonry trades, and by the 1960s we were proudly carrying out contract work for HM Government.

In more recent decades, as the use of natural stone inside the home became more popular, other product areas such as stone fireplaces, granite worktops and natural stone tiles have expanded.

We have also developed into a leading independent retailer and installer of wood burning stoves, flue systems and gas & electric fires.

Our business remains in the Reed family to this day, and our vast experience and understanding of our past, combined with an enthusiasm for new products and techniques, leaves us ideally positioned to take on the next century in the stonemasonry industry!

We are extremely happy with all aspects of the service that has been provided. We would have no hesitation in recommending Ivett & Reed.

Receive our latest news & offers

Connect with us